Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

To become a well rounded individual, one must acquire knowledge of various fields. Here, prompt states that every college student should enroll in a different course other than their field of study. I mostly agree with statement and think that gaining knowledge from various field is first step toward being a well rounded individual.

To begin with, having knowledge from various fields will help us know about various fields. Yes, we can know about other fields without taking the university courses but when we take a course at a university and spend about a semester learning about that subject, our knowledge of that subject matter will be deeper. And having knowledge about different subject matter will guide us to become a better person.

Secondly, taking variety of courses will help us to break the monotony of studying similar kind of subject every year in the college. For instance, if an engineering student who studies subject which are very technical every year, to study art or literature for a semester will be a break from those subject inclined towards heavy calculations. Studies have shown that a break form intense repeated studying is actually beneficial to the students.So, to break the monotony it is useful to take a different course in a university.

However, the cost of tuition of university courses are not cheap and to enroll in a subject which will not beneficial to us in the later life is not prudent. Similarly, time of a college student is also important and to manage time for a non relevant course is also difficult. There are already various compulsory courses for student to take to complete a degree and if a student is working part time then taking extravagant courses will be daunting to the student.

In conclusion, I my opinion taking various courses in a university will be beneficial to the student because it will help them to become well informed individual. But there are some downsides to the compulsory requirement of extra courses specially to the students who are working part time and those who do not have enough money.