The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College, it suggested that new dormitories should be built based on the three facts 1) based on current trends the college population will double in 50 years, 2) average rent of apartment in the town has risen and 3) more student will enroll becasue of of the new attractive dormitories.Close scrutiny of each of these facts, however, reveals than none of them lands credible support to the suggestion. So, before the suggestion can be evaluated properly, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, Will the current trend of growing student number continue to follow for the coming 50 years? It may be the case that student will be attracted to other colleges than Buckingham in coming years, then the student enrollment will obviously deline. Furthermore, world is pushing towards digitalization, it may be the case that the various degrees will be offered online to students in the comming years, which will make the increased dorm useless. So, if any of the above cases has merit then the conclusion drawn in the original memo is significantly hindered.

Secondly, will the new drom attract more student? Well student do look at the dorm facility in college, but it may not be the deciding factor. If the college is not offering attractive courses in the respective field then the attractive dormitories has no use. And dormitories may be the last thing they may look at before deciding the college. So if the above case hold water then the argument presented in the memo is hampered.

Thirdly, does the average rate of apartment which is increasing includes the rate for the students also? It may be the case that the there are places where student can find cheaper accomodation than the dorm itself. Morover, student tend to live in groups in one apartment and share rent, in this senario the off-campus housing may be cheaper than the on-campus housing. So, if above cases are true then the concllusion of the memo is seriously weakened.

To sum up, the argument is logically flawed as it stands because of its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author of the memo is able to provide more evidences and answer the three questions then the the suggestion about the addition of new dormitories in Buckingham College can be properly analyzed.