The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the school board of Centerville High School it is recommended to start a mandatory school sponsored driver's education program in Centerville High School stating the reasons that for past two years several accidents have involved teenage drivers. Other reason being parents are too busy to teach the children driving and they are tight on budget to send their children to the driving school. On surface, the argument in the letter seems plausible but after close inspection it is full of several assumptions. Three questions must be answered in order to properly evaluate the recommendation.

Firstly, are the accidents even serious? The letter do not explain the seriousness of the accidents. It may possible that the teenagers are involved in minor accidents which is inherent in the learning process even if the driving course is implemented. It is possible that, the accident mentioned in the letter were small one and no one was even injured or hurt. If the above case is true then the argument in the letter is significantly weakened.

Secondly, even if we assume that the accidents are serious, were the teenagers involved in the accidents were from Centerville High School? Perhaps, the majority of the teenagers involved in the mishap were from different school. It may be the case that, student from Centerville are rarely involved in the accidents, and the teenagers who are involved in the accident are tourists from different places. So, if the above mentioned cases hold water then the argument presented in the original letter is considerably hampered.

Thirdly, even if we assume that accident are serious and majority of teenagers involved in the mishaps are form Centerville High School, are there no any other factors affecting the accidents rates? It may be possible that, the roads of the Centerville are in worst condition, where probability of the accidents is high even even the driver is well skilled. The intersections, crosssections, traffic lights etc may not be properly managed, which in turn lead to more accidents. It may also be the case that, other people in the town are also the reckless drivers prone to accident , so focusing only on teenagers that only from Centerville High school, may not resolve the accident issue of the town. So, if the above cases have merit then the argument presented in the original letter is markedly hindered.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is considerably flawed because of it's reliance on several unstated assumptions. If the author of the letter is able to provide more pieces of evidence and answers to above three questions in a systematic manner then the recommendation in the letter to start a driver's education course in the Centerville High School can be properly evaluated.