The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is stated from the letter to the school board in the town of Centerville that every students need to take to drivers education course at Centerville High school in order to reduce the accidents around Centerville from the past two years. So a mandatory program need to be introduced by the high school is the only solution to this problem according to the school board. However, before evaluating the argument three questions need to be answered in order to decide if the argument is reasonable or not .

Firstly ,by introducing an effective driving program in high school will it really stop the reckless teenager from driving and not causing any accidents in near future ? Perhaps, the teenager might not be interested in that course .Perhaps, they don’t listen to their parents about safe driving or perhaps they wont listen about their instructors too .As teenager is the age where a youngster can be so wild and emotional .So ,perhaps it might happen that they not only refute their parents warnings but also driving more recklessly because their parents has told them not to do so. If any of these become true,the argument of the school board is seriously flawed.

Secondly,are the teenagers of Centerville alone responsible for the accident?What if there are other reasons? What if there occurs some accidents because of too much alcohol .Perhaps,a group of mature people in Centerville were partying all night and they drunk a lot .So,when they were returning home ,they were so drunk that they couldnot drive well and accident occurred.In this case,if these are true then the argument surely cannot hold water of introducing driving program in the high schools only.

Thirdly ,do ALL the students in that school really need that driving lesson?As there are already two driving school ,and parents can not afford .So ,it might happen that perhaps the parents also cant not afford for a car.Or it might happen parents drive their kids to the school or whenever they need to go out .Or perhaps the kid doesn’t need car for transportation .Rather he or she prefer to go by subway,or by walking.And when the school will force to take him driving lesson,he might be busy involving his own hobby.Apart from study perhaps this is the only time he gets free,so he might want to join a music club or science club or whatever he likes to do.So,if any of these happen,the argument of the school board will surely be undermined.

However, as it stands now,the argument of school board to introduce drivers education course is considerably flawed because of proper justifications and numerous assumptions. If the authority of school board can answered the above questions with proper explanations they might consider to give a shot of introducing mandatory driving program for all the teenager at Centerville High School.