The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this letter, the author recommends a high-school-sponsored driving education program and predicts that such program could help solve with teenager driving issue in Centerville. To support his/her claim, the author quotes the accidents relevant with young driver, parental situation for current driving course and implies the efficency of suggested program. While the author's recommendation seems beneficial to some extent, the reasoning of this argument is unconvincing due to the potential assumptions which, if proven unwarranted, will seriously challenge the author's viewpoint.

To start off, the author's recommendation heavily relies on the assumption that the issue of driving accidents involving with teenager driver in Centerville already reaches so severe level to require an immediate measures be taken. Based on this assumption, the author proposed further that a formal direction should be applied to enable teenager driver to became safe driver. However, such assumption might be potentially problematic because we're informed with number of the accidents. And it's also unclear that the teenager driver should be to blame for the accidents. Furthermore, we also don not know whether the teenager drivers are local. If it turns out that the accidents in and around Cenerville are not sufficiently serious, or they can be ascribed to other factors, rather than teenager driver's negligence, the author's recommendation of school-sponsored program lose its ground.

Additionally, by stating parents have either little time or funding to supply their children with driving course, the author rules out all other alternatives which could rival with proposed program. However, such assumption seems suspicious without sufficient information to support that such program could the only solution for solving with driving issue. It's likely that parents just take their unavailability as execute because they are reluctant to teach children personally. Additionally, we also couldn't preclude the probability that parents with financial dilemma could only occupy minority of the whole population. Furthermore, the government-sponsored program could also serve as alternative methods. If any of assumptions mentioned all is valid, the validity of so-called unique solution via school-sponsored program would be deprived and the author's recommendation would become unreliable.

Last but not least, even if all of aforementioned assumptions are valid, the author's recommendation could be unnecessary due to the doubtful assumption of the efficiency of the proposed school-sponsored program. Claiming that the program will be efficient, the author seems too optimistic. First of all, it's unreasonable to assume that parents, especially who are willing to teach children by themselves, could readily accept the mandatory school-sponsored program. In addition, the author hastily comes to a conclusion that school could afford such cost but don't discuss whether school are financially capable of doing so. Furthermore, granted that we can put such program into practise, it's also not guaranteed that the number of accidents would indeed decrease after its implementation. If any of assumed situations mentioned above would happen, the efficiency of the program could diminish, therefore, the author's recommendation could face huge challenges.

In summary, whether we could implement the author's recommendation heavily depend on the validity of assumption aforementioned. If assumptions prove unreliable, the author's recommendation could become little more than the author's wistful thinking, and we should consider other solutions to settle down the driving issue relevant with teenager drivers in and around Centerville.