The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this letter, the author recommends a high-school-sponsored driving program in Centerville and anticipates such program could help solve with accident issues relevant with teenager driver. Quite convincing though such recommendation appears at first glance, a closer scrutiny reveals that it heavily relies on several unsubstantiated assumptions which, if prove unwarranted, will seriously deprive off the validity of his/her recommendation.

To start off, the author's recommendation heavily depends on the assumption that accidents in and around Centerville already reach such extent that a suitable measure must be taken immediately to enhance teenager drivers' skills. Based on this assumption, the author proposes a suggestion to enact a driving course program. However, this assumption might be potentially problematic because we are not informed that the exact number of accidents in Centerville. Nor do we know if teenager driver should take charge of major responsibility of accidents. Furthermore, we even don't understand if those teenager driver are local. If it turns out that those accidents are not so servere as the author assumes, or they are actually attributable to other factors, the author's recommendation could fall untenable.

Additionally, by citing that parents have either little time or strapped budget for teaching course, the author simply rules out other alternatives which could rival with the one proposed in passage. However, we have no clues that such suggestion could be the unique solution for solving this issue. It is likely that parents just take their unavailability for excuses to eschew with teaching. It is of equal probability that parents with financial quandary just occupy a small proportion out of total population. Moreover, a government sponsored program could also serve as an alternative method. If any of above cases turn out true, we should question the uniqueness of the author's solution and the author's recommendation would lose its weight; on the contrary, we are inclined to believe that the author's high-school-sponsored driving program actually have its feasibility and applicable advantage.

Last but not least, granted all of aforementioned assumptions stay valid, the author's recommendation might be still unnecessary due to the assumption of efficiency of such driving program. It is unreasonable to assume that parents, especially those who are willing to teach children personally, could agreeably accept with such mandatory program. And the author hastily comes to a conclusion that high school should afford such program, but not discuss with whether they are capable of doing so financially. Furthermore, even if such recommendation could be applied, we are also not sure that decrease of driving accidents in Centerville could occur definitely. If this compulsory course would incur the great repulse from parents or high schools in Centerville can't afford the relevant cost, this mandatory driving source still can not be enacted successfully and the author's recommendation should be in great doubt.

In summary, whether we implement the author's recommendation actually depends on the validity of assumptions mentioned above. If any assumptions that the author take for his/her reasoning actually fall into groundless, the author's recommendation seems to become little more than his/her wistful thinking and we should resort to other solution to solve with the driving problem in and around Centerville.