niversities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

people's personality is the collection of experiences that they gather along as they grow up. One of the important aspect of a person is their college life where they are subjected to different experiences. The prompt advocates that universities should urge student to take variety of courses outside of the student field of study. I strongly agree with the statement, and argue that student should have an open mind about the different courses because of the following three reasons.

To begin, studying only one field of study can be mind numbingly monotonous specially if the duration of the course is very long. It may kill the zeal that student may have during the start of the course. If the field of study of a student is engineering or mathematics then studying formulas equations, laws only for four years will be humdrum. If the student take other courses like music, drama or any other courses not related to math or engineering, then it will not be tedious for them. Studies have shown that, studying only one thing for several time is not beneficial and taking enough breaks is essential for productivity. So, taking other courses other than field of study can be regarded as breaks for the students.

Further, as the introduction states that, people are the collection of experiences. One of the best way to gain experiences about different things is to take course on different things. Exposure to different courses will lead students to meet different kind of people with different ideas and different aims in life. One of the important lesson in life is to learn to respect other people different ideas and work together with people having different opinion. Enrolling in different courses gives opportunity for the students to work with people having different ideas, and it will help them to grow as a person.

Though, student start with objective of studying the intended field, they may not be fully aware of the type of field they are about to study. This is true specially in the case of under graduate students. After studying for one or two years, they may find that the course is not what they thought it was. But when student are subjected to variety of courses, then they may find focus on other field. It will be then sagacious to major in that field where student find joy and focus.So, exposure to variety of courses my help the confused student to switch major during their early days.

However, one may argue that, time on the university is limited and should not waste limited time by studying other courses which is not their intended field of study. But studying only one thing is tedious and restrain student from gathering valuable experiences which will be more helpful in future. So, student should be open minded about different courses in the university.