Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In addition to choosing a primary field of study, university students should be required to take a variety of classes, to expand their breadth of knowledge.

University students who take courses outside of their primary field of study develop a broader base of knowledge, and this can greatly supplmenent their career prospects. One of the main purposes of attending university is to prepare for careers in industry, and although it is important to develop a specialization, solely focusing one's time in college in one field is oftentimes insufficient. In the modern world, most jobs do not only require a single skill, or knowledge in a single field. For example, to prepare for a career in software engineering, students often major in computer science, which provides the foundations for this industry. However, in addition to a core background in computer science, software engineers must also have strong communication skills to write documents or present ideas to a group. Thus, in order to prepare for this area, universities should encourage students to not only focus on completing a computer science major, but also hone their writing and communication skills through classes selected from the humanities.

Those who disagree with the idea that universities should require students to take breadth classes outside of their main field of study may argue that depth, rather than breadth, is the best way to prepare individuals for their careers. By focusing on one specific field, students can specialize, and become an expert in that area. Career specialization can be beneficial because it may be valuable to employers, and lead to higher paying jobs, and is sometimes inevitable over the course of one's careers. Nevertheless, specializing too much in a particular field, especially as students, can be quite risky. Changes in the economy, for example, through technological innovation, may results in certain sectors to decline, and individuals who have deeply specialized in an area may be without a job and have difficulty adapting to a changing career landscape. By developing a broad base of knowledge, through courses outside of a student's primary field of study, students can better prepare for their long-term career. Even if studying these areas don't reap immediate benefits, a broader background reduces long-term career risk.

Though it is important for students to develop expertise in their field of study, universities should also require students to take courses in other subjects. A broader education base not only better prepares students for the interdisciplinary requirements of modern jobs, but also improves one's ability to work long-term.