The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"When the Grandview Symphony was established ten years ago, the city of Grandview agreed to provide the symphony with annual funding until the symphony became self-sustaining. Two years ago, the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have tripled and attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. Now that the symphony has succeeded in finding an audience, the city can eliminate its funding of the symphony."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Although the memo attempts to argue for the elimination of city funding for the Grandview Symphony, several assumptions are made that, if shown to be untrue, significantly weaken the memo's position.

One main assumption made in the memo is that the hiring of a new internationally known conductor is the cause of high profile guest musicians to perform at the symphony, which in turn causes the recent surge in the symphony's popularity. Though it is entirely plausible that internationally known conductor is responsible for attracting high-profile guest musicians, other factors may have also been the source of attraction. Perhaps the symphony, established ten years ago, finally reached the level of musical maturity and skill necessary to attract popular guest musicians. Another confounding factor may be a population increase in the city, or an influx of musicians moving to Grandview. Whatever the reason, the assumption of the new conductors effectivenss in attracting guest musicians may prove untrue. Similarly, the performance of high profile guest musicians may not be the reason for increased private contributions and attendance. Although donations and concert attendence has increased since then, these increases may also be due to external factors, such as the ones mentioned earlier. If these assumptions are true, then the city may be confident that even with the elimination of funding, the symphony can continue to thrive. However, if any assumption in this chain of logic is untrue, it is possible that private donations and attendence decrease in coming years, and the city may not have the confidence to eliminate funding for a struggling symphony.

Another key question to ask is, with this increase in private donations and summer concert attendence, is the symphony actually self-sustaining? The budget planner who wrote this memo implies that the city can stop funding the symphony because the symphony can sustain itself, but it is nonetheless an unproven assumption. Despite the increase in private contributions and summer concert attendance, the symphony may still not be making enough money to sustain itself. Perhaps the summer concert is free to attend, or an expensive marketing campaign is reponsible for the increase in attendence, in which case the symphony's revenue would be much less than implied. A tripling in private contributions may also not be as significant, if the amount of private contributions was low to begin with. If the assumption of the symphony being self-sustaining currently is untrue, then the symphony may struggle to survive if the funding provided by the city is eliminated. This would severely weaken the author's position that the city can eliminate funding for the symphony while still allowing the symphony to continue its work.

Finally, the article assumes that past performance predicts the future success of the symphony. The author implies that due to the recent success of the symphony in attracting concert-goers and private contributions, that this trend will continue. However, a multitude of factors may cause this to not be the case. For example, the new internationally known conductor may leave for a different city or retire. Perhaps the economy will worsen, causing less people to attend concerts for recreation, and less private donations to be made. Whatever the reason, the future popularity of the symphony may not align with its recent success. If the symphony's performance worsens, then the elimination of funding from the city may be disastrous.

Although the memo attempts to argue for the elimination of city funding for the Grandview Symphony, several assumptions are made that, if shown to be untrue, significantly weaken the memo's position. The author implies that the city can safely remove funding because the symphony can sustain itself. If any of the budget planners assumptions prove unwarranted, then the symphony may not be as well off as the author implies, and a removal of city funding for the symphony can cause it to fail.