The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"When the Grandview Symphony was established ten years ago, the city of Grandview agreed to provide the symphony with annual funding until the symphony became self-sustaining. Two years ago, the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have tripled and attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. Now that the symphony has succeeded in finding an audience, the city can eliminate its funding of the symphony."

In the memo, the author recommends that the city can eliminate its funding of the symphony due the increase of private contributions and the attendance at the symphony’s outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. While the argument sounds plausible at first glance, the assumptions are not entirely logically convincing, since it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

First, the recommendation relies heavily on the assumption that the symphony is self-sustaining due the increase in private contributions and attendance. Nowhere in the argument is stated when the Grandview Symphony is self-sustaining. Maybe, there is more profit needed to be self-sustaining. The fact that the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, may resulted in high costs for the symphony and the increase in private contributions and attendance don’t keep up with the expenditures of the known conductor. In this case is could be true that the Grandview Symphony needs more annual funding than it did before they hired the internationally known conductor. To bolster his argument the author needs to provide information that there is enough profit at the Grandview Symphony to be self-sustaining and that the city can eliminate its funding for the symphony.

Furthermore, the author of the recommendation assumes that the private contributions will be as high as they are now in the upcoming years. There is no proof that the private contributions will be as high as they are now. Maybe, there will be an economic setback and people cannot contribute as much to the Grandview Symphony as they can now or maybe there will be another event that requires private contributions and people are interested in that specific event as well, maybe they have to split the private contributions and the Grandview Symphony will get half of the contributions or in worst case, they will get nothing anymore, because the other event is much more popular. The author has made the assumption that private contributions stay consistent or even increase throughout the years, but he fails to provide evidence that this is true. He could survey people who give private contributions if they are willing to maintain this contribution, this would buttress his argument, but even than it would not be entirely logically convincing, since we cannot see what the economic future holds for us.

Finally, just like the above assumption, the author assumes that the attendance to the symphony will be as high as the previous years. It could be that people are not interested in the symphony anymore, because they have already seen it a couple of times or there are other, more attractive, events in the upcoming years. If the Grandview Symphony keeps hiring the same international known conductor, maybe the visitors of the Grandview Symphony will get boring and loses visitors. It is not guaranteed that the attendance to the Grandview Symphony will reach records high over the years. If the author could provide information about the interest in visiting the Grandview Symphony in the upcoming years and it would be the same as the past two years, it could bolster the author’s argument.

In conclusion, the assumptions in the argument are not entirely logically convincing. The author needs to give more evidence about upcoming private contributions and visitors to the Grandview Symphony. Even when he would provide such evidence, it is not guaranteed that people will give the same private contribution, because we do not know what the economic future holds for us, and therefore it cannot be concluded if there will be the same amount of private contributions as in the present. The same is true for the number of visitors. The author needs to provide more sufficient information to bolster his argument.