The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"When the Grandview Symphony was established ten years ago, the city of Grandview agreed to provide the symphony with annual funding until the symphony became self-sustaining. Two years ago, the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have tripled and attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. Now that the symphony has succeeded in finding an audience, the city can eliminate its funding of the symphony."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the conclusion of the argument, the city of Grandview can stop his financial support to the city’s symphony because the symphony has finally acquired an audience. Despite such a conclusion seem well supported, it is necessary to explore the reasoning and the implicit assumption on which it relies.

The author mentions the fact that the private contributions to the symphony has incraesed since the symphony hired a famous conductor two years ago. A first assumption is that this contributions are sufficient for the sustaining of the symphony. However, this may be not the case. First, we do not know how much money this financial support is amount to: the author only cites that it is tripled and this is surely insufficient: the current contribution could be insignificant if the initial one was low. Moreover, the cost of the new conductor and the other musicians he has attracted could be high: they are after all extremely famous.

It is true that the author cites the fact that summer concerts have recently reached record highs. The tacit idea is that these record highs are significant for the income of the symphony. However, it is possible that these concerts are economically disadvantaged. Perhaps, they are free; maybe the cost of their organization is greater than the amount of money earned.

For the sake of argument we can concede that the company is NOW well sustained. The author implicit assumes that this condition will be permanent. What about the conductor will not be appreciated by the audience anymore? What if he will decide to quit because of a more tempting offer? There is also no guarantee that the audience will be steady. Maybe, people will decide not to attend the symphony anymore thanks to a change of tastes. Perhaps, there will be an economic crisis and the audience will no longer be solvent.

The author also assumes that there is no negative consequence with the curtailing of the founding. However, this is may be not the case. By not supporting the symphony, the current major will no longer be supported by the people who have voted him. Maybe, eliminating the support of the symphony involves a drastic reduction of tourism or a significant decrease in the amount of money Grandview receives from the state.

In conclusion, the author’s recommendation can turn out convincing only after a careful examination of the assumption of his reasoning. First, it is necessary to identify the income of the symphony and figuring out whether it is sufficient. Second, it is necessary to understand whether this income can be steady in the future. Third, it would be wiser to carefully examine the possible negative ramifications of the elimination of financial support given to the symphony.