Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author’s recommendation seem high controversial: it seems morally unacceptable that the research should focused only on field benefiting the majority to the detriment of minorities. In what follows, I will support this intuition by taking into account both its negative and positive ramifications. As it will turn out, the negative consequences outline the positive ones.

At first glance, a reason for implementing the author’s recommendation is that it is more important to solve a problem that hits a greater number of people. Is it better to save 100 people or just 1? Of course, most of us are inclined to think that the first option is preferable. Economic research that tries to find solutions to the present discrepancy between the low number of wealthy and the great number of poor is surely welcome. Medical researches that are finding out a cure for cancers should be supported, since cancers are one of the main mortal diseases affecting a great number of people.

However, it is not always the case that a great number of people suffer from a relevant disease. When it comes to problems impacting society, it is crucial to also consider their seriousness. Suppose that every year there are sixty million people suffering from flu. Moreover, suppose that there are just 1 million of children suffering from a genetic mortal malady. Who should be prioritised? Our intuition is that, of course, researchers should focus on identifying a solution for those children instead of resolving the flu problem. If they did not do so, the consequence would be deleterious and much more grievous: a plethora of children would be at risk of dying.

Some people might object by advancing certain hard cases. For example, what if both the majority and minorities suffer from mortal diseases that are different from each other? Should the majority be prioritized over minorities in researching a solution? In this case, it would be worth following a proportional rule, according to which the available funds for supporting research should be divided proportionally. If the 2 percent of people suffer from a certain mortal disease the 2 percent (or maybe less) of the total financial support should be used to find a cure for it. In this way, it is not the case that a group is benefited to the detriment of another one.

To sum up, the author’s recommendation involves the negative consequence that, if it was implemented, there would be minorities facing serious problems – such as death or poverty. A better rule that should be followed involves taking into account the seriousness of the problem. If all the problem are equally serious, proportionality should be the criteria to be adopted.