Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

The author states that scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that would benefit the greatest number of people. Though it is a very strong argument, I think scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that would benefit any number of people, because each and every people are equally important. Moreover, if scientists and other researchers focus only on the areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people, new problems may never get solved.

First, each and every people are equally important. While an issue may affect a small number of people at first, it might affect a lot more people eventually. For example, there are a small number of people who are affected by cancer compared to the whole population of the earth. But if scientists and other researchers do not focus their research to cure and prevent cancer, the patients might die from it. Furthermore, though today the number of cancer patient are small, in future it might effect a lot more people.

Second, new problems may not be solved if scientists and other researchers focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people. For example, most of the people of the world have smartphone today. But some of the people in Africa and Asia are deprived of this technology. If scientists and researchers do not find a way to produce cheap smartphone, they might never get a chance to use that technology.

Some may argue that if scientists and other researchers do not focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people, scientists and other researchers may not get funding for their research. This argument is flawed because funding for research does not depend only on the number of benefited people, but also the impact of the research.

In conclusion, scientists and other researchers have obligations to make the world a better place while giving importance to each and every life. Moreover, they should try to solve new problems even if it matters to only a limited number of people. For these reasons, scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that would benefit any number of people.