gh

I believe all faculties of colleges and universities should spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach because not only it will make them better at teaching but also students will be benefited from this. Moreover, it will help the faculties to shape the curriculum of their courses according to the ever changing work field.

First, the faculties of colleges and universities are always trying to improve themselves through research, seminar, workshop etc. Working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach will be one of the most effective medias for improving themselves because they will apply their theoretical knowledge in practical life. Besides if they are working in a new theory, they can test them in those conditions.

Second, since students will take those professions after completing their courses, it will be beneficial to them if faculties experience those jobs. Moreover, since faculties will be able to identify if the students need any new skill to perform better in those position, they can teach those skills in their courses.

Some may argue that since the faculties have already huge work load, it will be difficult to implement this rule. Though the argument is true, it will not be impossible to implement this rule because the faculties will not spend six months or one year in those jobs, one or two months period will be enough for the faculties which can be managed during holidays.

In conclusion, working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses faculties teach will be beneficial for both the students and faculties. For these reasons, all faculties of colleges and universities should spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.