According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should, therefore, allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The argument taken from the memo that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising is flawed. In the argument, the conclusion is based on vague and ambiguous terms. Furthermore, the conclusion doesn't take into account the quality of the Super Screen movie theaters and it also fails to address whether the percentage of people attending movies decreased in all kinds of production types or not.

To begin, the conclusion is largely based on the assumption that the past year fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies while the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers increased. But it fails to address the exact number of people attended the movies last year and by what percent positive reviews increased. For example, it is possible that the amount of people decreased is only 100 and the percentage increase of positive reviews is only 2. In those cases, it is impossible to determine whether increasing the budget for advertisement would attract desired amount of viewers.

Second, the conclusion fails to address the quality of the theaters. It is possible that fewer people are attending the movies not because of the lack of awareness or the quality of the movies, but because of the quality of the movie theaters. Without knowing the answer to the question whether the quality of the movie theaters is up to the mark or not, it is quite difficult to make any conclusion.

Third, the memo does not indicate whether the amount of people going to all kinds of movies decreased or not. If the amount of people going to all kinds of movies decreased, it would not do much to attract the viewers only by advertising. So, to make any conclusion, the answer to this question is necessary.

The argument can be strengthened by clearly defining the amount of people went to the super screen produced movies last year and the exact percentage of increase of positive reviews. The argument can be further strengthened by taking into account the quality of the movie theaters. As it stands, however, the argument is flawed because of the stated reasons.