"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author's argument that in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, late-night program should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level is flawed. In the argument, the author not only draws a conclusion based on vague and ambiguous words but also assumes that viewers complained because of the short coverage of weather and local news, not because of the quality of the weather and local news. Furthermore, the author makes the mistake of not considering that the local businesses that used to advertise during late night are having a rough time financially.

To begin, the conclusion is largely based on the assumptions that the late-night news is losing revenues because of increased time to national news. The author fails to indicate the exact amount of time allocated for both national news and weather and local news. Moreover, the author assumes that the quality of the weather and local news is irrelevant, when the assumption is unwarranted. It is possible that the late-night program is getting viewer complaint because of the quality of the weather and local news, not because of the length of the news. Since the author doesn’t consider the quality of the weather and local news, it is impossible to determine whether increasing the time for weather and local news would help the late-night program to avoid losing further money.

Second, the author assumes that the local businesses are not having any rough time financially. If the local businesses are going through financial crisis, it is possible that are cancelling contracts with other media programs. In that case, increasing the amount of time for weather and local news would not solve the problem of losing advertising revenue.

The argument can be strengthened by thoughtfully considering whether the quality of the weather and local news have anything to do with the complaints of the viewer. The argument can be further strengthened if the author would take the financial conditions for the local business into considerations. However, as it stands, the argument is flawed for the stated reasons.