As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author states that the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate, as people rely more and more on technology to solve problems. While the both sides of the statement have its strengths and weaknesses, I believe that the excessive use of technology will deteriorate the thinking ability of humans, because it is easy to perform a task using technology, while it takes a lot more effort to solve that particular task by humans on their own. Moreover, technology has the characteristics of getting better with time and humans are suffering to keep up with them.

First, we are using technology in almost every field, from manufacturing plant to precision work to self driving car, because technology is making everything easy. For example, in garments industry, humans were used for sewing and cutting operation. But recently robots are introduced here because of their superior performance. Furthermore, the defect rates of products are reduced dramatically when they robots are involved. So, in case of sewing and cutting operation, the humans are not involved anymore. As a result, they are not thinking about making themselves more skilled, and how can they increase productivity with their human limitations.

Second, artificial intelligence is solving a great deal of problems. For example, a poem or painting can be done with artificial intelligence. Similarly, artificial intelligence is performing very well in video games, even it is beating humans regularly in some games. Consequently, the complicated works which required a lot more thinking and brainstorming of humans, are being handed over to technology.

Some may argue that although technology is getting advanced day by day, some problems are still can't be solved by technology. For example, the job of a judge. While the argument is valid, it is flawed, because the human judge may not be replaced by technology, but the judicial process is gaining a lot from technology, for example - voice recognition, face recognition etc. which is helping to decrease the pressure on humans.

In conclusion, humans are relying more and more on technology day by day. As a result, their ability to think for themselves are getting hampered because the humans take a lot more time and resource to perform any particular task while technology can perform it with lot less.