To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To be an effective leader, one must maintain some important qualities. Hard work, self-motivation, honesty and ability to work in a team are few of them. I believe a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards to be an effective leader along with hard work, self-motivation and being a team player.

Recently in Bangladesh, a girl was physically tortured. After the torture, she went to the nearest police station and informed the police officer. But instead of filing a case and take legal actions, the police officer mocked the girl and sent her home. Two days later, the girl was found dead in her room. It was a suicide. If the police officer maintained his ethical and moral standards and did his job, an innocent life won't be lost and the criminal would be brought to the justice. So, if a leader does not maintain his ethical values, it becomes a serious issue for the organization as well as the country.

Second, a public official must have courage and self-motivation to become a true leader. For example, last year Bangladesh suffered from a serious cyclone. Because of the cyclone, a lot of people who lived in remote area were confined to their home. Many public officers along with others volunteers from different organizations went there and rescued them to nearest safe haven. In this case, if the officers and others volunteers didn't have the courage and motivation to rescue them, something unwanted would happen to those poor people.

In conclusion, though a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards to be an effective leader, it is not the only quality to look for. Hard work, self-motivation, honesty and ability to work in a team are very important as well.