"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The argument makes many unwarranted assumptions. They assume that the report from the marketing department to be impeccable and t but the marketing report may have surveyed a sample of the population of viewers who attended the movies. Based on the reviews from a small set of audience, they extrapolate to it to the entire population and infer that there is no problem with the quality of the movies they produce but with the lack of public awareness. Hence, they propose to allocate a high budget towards public awareness campaigns.

The first argument is based on the validity of the report from the marketing department. While surveying a set of audience, there is a potential risk of having a high bias while selecting the survey audience. The audience must be selected carefully to maintain a level of fairness so that the survey reports are not apocryphal. Surveys must be conducted a lot of times in different locations and times. That will be beneficial to gain an insight into the quality of films and how people in different regions perceived its content.

The second argument is about the lack of public awareness. It is infelicitous to derive conclusions from a survey that was done on a meagre number of audience. There may be myriad reasons for accounting the reduced audience. The movies may be releasing along with movies of higher popularity. In that scenario, people are inclined to watch other movies. The movies ratings from the critics can also be a contributing factor for the fewer audience. People rely a lot on critics' rating and websites such as Rotten Tomatoes and IMDB before they buy a ticket to ensure that they get their money's worth.

Another argument is the allocation of a high budget for public awareness. There is no mention of the current marketing techniques being practised. In spite of allocating a high budget for marketing, the public turnover is not guaranteed as it depends on myriad factors like other movies releasing at the time of the year, time of the year etc. If the marketing is done effectively and efficiently, there is a possibility of an increase in audience numbers. The strategy of selective marketing can be leveraged to target a stratum of the population based on their interests and devise advertisements to pique their interests. Hence, the recommendation proposed makes many flawed assumptions.