The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

It is imperative for youth who are nurtured for positions of power and leadership to be adept at cooperating with their fellow peers and have a competitive spirit. Competition is important for any individual to improve themselves.Cooperation is pivotal for the existence of a group. For nurturing youth to become leaders, the society must inculcate both these elements into their minds.

A leader is a person who is able to effectively disseminate an idea among a group. Such a person must be must be adept at interpersonal communications, making good judgments about an idea by taking into consideration all the intricate details. It is important for a leader to be able to collaborate and cooperate with all his peers to produce the best output. So cooperation is one of the pillars for leadership in any domain.

For instance, the captain of a cricket team must be able to cooperate with his teammates. Cricket is a team sport consisting of 11 players on either teams. It is quintessential for the captain of the team to cooperate with his players for his team to win. If cooperation does not exist between the captain and the players, the team is destined to lose as they will not be able to effectively implement the right tactics to get a batsman's wicket or prevent the leakage of runs.

Competition is not only a pivotal for the creation of a leader but also for the development of a talented person. The sense of competition is an evolutionary feeling in humans that ha motivated them to portray themselves as the best among a tribe or for winning the heart of the loved one. This sense of competition forces one to set high benchmarks and motivates them to achieve the target inspite of facing obstacles. This makes an individual robust to failure and instills a never-say-die attitude which is an idiosyncrasy of a great leader. Hence, the society must provide a competitive environment to the youth and instill a sense of cooperation in them to mold them into great leaders.