Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

It is important for an effective leader to be respected by his peers as the degree of respect for a leader among his peers is quintessential to the goodwill of his/her's group.

An effective leader is someone who has the ability to put things well into others' perspective. An idea can be executed only when all the members of the group have a clear and precise idea about each others' role. A leader can communicate effectively with his peers only when he is venerated amongst them. The respect is really important because it gives the notion of inspiration for the peers which is pivotal to do any work. The leader may have good moral judgment, but if he/she has no respect among their peers, ideas cannot be communicated effectively and the group will be in a state of a turmoil. For instance, the manager or head coach is the ultimate head of a football team. If there is no sense of respect among the players for the manager, his tactics can't be implemented properly and the players won't be inspired to play under him which will ultimately engender to down-fall of the team's results. Hence, the modicum of respect that peers have for their leader highly correlates to the group's performance. Inspite of respect among his/her peers, it is important for the leader to have good moral judgment because the decisions taken by the leader will affect the group's fortunes as well.

Hence, it is important for the leader to be revered among his peers.