The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

The recommendation makes many unwarranted assumptions. The argument of Namen's officials is flawed as they are not aware of the number of people belonging to different classes of income. The assumption of Ramen's officials that the suburbs would be predominantly family oriented is also not properly supported.

The first argument dealing with Namen is inherently flawed. Salem is claimed to be a suburb with high population growth rate in the last three years. The population growth may be due to myriad factors like urbanisation, construction of a power plant which engenders job oppurtunities for people in economically backward areas. In that case, the sudden surge in population can be attributed to migration of people to Salem. Median income is not a reliable metric to measure the economic status of the population. The average income per household can be used to measure the same and it would provide authentic results. If average income per household is low, Namen, which is known for its high-end designer fashion, will not be an affordable option for the people in Salem. Hence, Namen's branch will not perform well. The arguement made by their officials can be strengthened by taking surveys among the people analyzing its results.

The argument made by Roscoe is unjustifiable. Their argument is not backed up with any evidence. The initial population of Salem may have consisted of affluent families. The surge in population may be due to wealthy landlords or businessmen who wanted to relocate to a burgeoning region and invest in its growth which would see them earn a buckload from the return of investment. In that scenario, Roscoe's sales won't skyrocket as affluent people might prefer sophisticated styles of clothing synonymous to those offered by Namen. Hence, Roscoe' profits would take a hit.

Hence, the recommendation proposes arguments that are flawed.