"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

The argument proposes some unwarranted assumptions. The community service requirement is claimed to help students gain some real-world working experience. This assumption is flawed as it does not cater to needs of students from different branches of study. The argument makes another assumption that the work done by the students will help the perpetual efforts of the local charities.

The first assumption made by the argument claims that the students will be able to gain real-world working experience. The argument fails to mention what kind of work will be done by the students. Hence, the term "real-world working experience" is vague. Students majoring in business, arts, engineering etc. will be working in different environments after graduating. Hence, the term "real-world experience" conveys different meaning for students majoring in different areas of study. The argument could have been strengthened by mentioning the specific work to be done by the students.

Another assumption made by the argument states that the work done by students will be helpful for the local charities to continue their efforts. This assumption is also vague in not mentioning what kind of efforts were undertaken by the charities. The charity might be involved in distributing clothes and study material for people in need. The charity might require the students to do some volunteering work or take care of finances.

The University wants to mould students into well-rounded individuals. Students must not be compelled to do community service. A service is something that is done out of empathy for those in need. The very move making community service into a graded course demeans the whole purpose.

Hence, the argument makes many unwarranted assumptions.