The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

The argument recommends that the community service requirement for students can benefit them and can help the local charities. However, this argument rests on many unsubstantiated assumptions, and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

The memo states that students can have lots of opportunities to give back to the community. An assumption here is that the students have enough time to do the work and they truly make an effort in this event. However, if they just have to complete eight hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of nine months, how do they give them back to the society? Eight hours per month are not enough for them to help people.

Even if they have lots of opportunities to give them back to the community, they may not make an effort in it. For example, my college required all the students that they needed to finish the special course which the students had to clean the certain area of college during the whole semester. However, lots of students did not make an effort in it. They just cleaned cursorily and was no patient. I believe that the students would make an effort if this requirement has a salary.

The author says that the local charities will recieve the help from students. Still, A supposition here is not convinced. What if they do not want to make an effort in it? Like I said, we need give somethings to the students that we can allure them.

To strengthen the argument, the author would need to address these assumptions.