Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

While some people tend to think that college students majoring in Business or in the Sciences have to foucus on their major, and do not study other courses in the humanities which may not benefit their careers, others seem to disagree with it. In my opinion, I believe that studying lots of diverse courses for students is better, and the following discussion reveals my stand and reasoning.

To begin with, students have to attend different courses so that they can deal with lots of complicate situation. To be specific, if one student who just foucus on his major, he may not have an ability to face people. For example, my friend, Alex, majoring in Computer Science with me in the college. He did not like to study other courses bacause he thought that other courses were not benefit to him. When we graduated from college, no company wanted him. After he asked to lots of managers of different compaines, he realized that he cannot find the job due to his personality. They thought he did not know how to face the people. Thus, I think that students have to take different courses.

Moreover, studying other courses can relieve our stress. When we focus on on major, we may have lots of stress beacuse we probably make lots of efforts to deal with it. Studying different courses is a good way that we can meet lots of different people, and see the different view from them. Therefore, I think having different courses can be benefit to us.

True, some people might say that if college students majoring in Business or in the Sciences study lots of different courses, it may not have any benefit when they work in the company. They should not watse their time to study other courses. However, this belief fools to consider the fact that if they take some couses in the humanities or in the society, they can learn lots of skill of facing people. They have to deal with a lot of people or resolve lots of problem when they work in the company. That is to say, studying courses in the humanities can benefit them. Therefore, it is hard to convince people to of this idea.

To sum up, with the reasons mentioned above, I think that college students majoring in Business or in the Sciences have to gain different knowledge in the different courses. There seems to be some validity to other points of view. However, I still believe that the reasons of my opinion are stronger.