Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

The issue of whether undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should require to take any courses in the Humanities, has engendered controversies, and can be divided into two schools of thought. On the one hand, staunch defenders support that idea assuming that Humanities are redundant in those different fields. On the other hand, opponents contend that by such a denial, people will be less qualified in an important scientific field. Were I, in such an ambiguous position whether to agree or disagree, I would support the latter argument sound, even though the former one has some positive attributes.

First and foremost, undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences need to have varying disciplines and traits, as a result of their education and knowledge. Consequently, at the undergraduate level of their studies they should pursue to learn as much as possible from all the different scientific fields, something that renders the exclusion of Humanities useless. For instance, a future executive in a big corporation who has attended a renowned business school that did not support the study of Humanities, would be vulnerable in cases of human ressources. Thus, he or she might not face difficulties in terms of management but this would constitute an inchoate business profile.

In addition, the divergence of courses and studies always benefits students for developing important skills and sharpen their acument. To be precise, they learn to estimate logically different situations and promote a multifaced inclination of life. For example, someone who has taken varying courses during his or her undergraduate circle of studies, seems to be confident and sure about what scientific field of expertise he or she likes more to pursue. To adduce another example as pertinent evidence: perhaps someone with undergraduate studies in energy business, would be productive about both the economic and social impact of energy policies.

According to the other school of thought, Humanities would be completely usefull in the undergraduate studies of those who tend to follow careers in Business or in the Sciences. This might be true at some point, because Humanities could be easily neglected by the relevant students and therefore, the whole role and knowledge of the specific field could be undermined. Nonetheless, probably it could be effective if the specific courses exist as an option to most students. Hence, only those who have a strong interest would choose them.

In conclusion, I wholeheartedly believe that during the circle of undergraduate studies, students should be able to practice different scientific fields. This is an important element that would bolster the creation of independent and strong personalities. In reference to this, our societies would prosper and overcome any obstacles and deleterious circumstances. There would also be many new achievements, since the new scientists will face experiments and problems from different scopes.