Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

The issue of whether people who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy, has engendered controversy and can be divided into two schools of thought. On the one hand, staunch defenders support that people who support their ideas are those that learn to overcome the most difficult obstacles in life. On the other hand, opponents contend that individuals are usually affected by their surroundings and thus forgo any ideas they probably had. Were I, in such an ambiguous position whether to agree or disagree, I would support the former idea, even though the latter one may present some positive attributes.

First and foremost, people who see their ideas through are those who follow their dreams and make the most required to realize them. Indeed, they are possessed by a deep knowledge of their lives and they know better than anyone what they want to achieve and which direction to follow. For example, students who have high grades in mathematics and physics may be advised by their families and teachers to pursue careers in engineering, since the latter one is directly correlated with high salaries and ample choices of jobs. On the contrary, some of the aforementioned students are likely to have an inclination only for mathematics or physics and as result want to deepen their knowledge in one of these two scientific fields. Therefore, they will realize their dreams and practice only the subjects they really matter, ignoring those close to them.

In addition, the fact that individuals are able to see their ideas through and ignore any sort of doubts or criticism, implies strong personalities and unchallenged characters. Admittedly, people care about their ideas and usually see things from a different aspect. Hence, they cultivate their disciplines and acumen as they are always ready to support what they believe and the way they think their ideas would make a positive impact. For instance, someone who is determined that new environmental policies should be implemented, reducing the emission of harmful substances in the atmosphere, would be able to evaluate why these new policies would be effective and challenge any opposite view.

According to the other school of thought, it is to difficult to avoid criticism and potential doubts, as result only a small portion of those who follow their ideas end up realizing them. This is true to some extent, because many people have thought to change the world, and at the end they have been limited to some sort of conspiracies that have made their efforts collapse. Nonetheless, people that have followed their dreams and ideas untill the end, are those who have achieved great results and those that all of the others should have as a paradigm.

In conclusion, although believing in some ideas and following them untill the end, may seem easy at a first glance, it is extremely difficult. Strong personalities are rare in our days and most of the humans tend to be negatively affected by doubts and criticism by others. Only those who are determined to win, regardless of any losses, will achieve and they will promote all the fundamental disciplines for our societies. Because, our system should be just and prolific, thus only strong characters can really change it in our favor.