The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station:

‘’Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

In this memo, the author contends that a specific television station in order to attract more viewers and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, will devote more time to weather and local news in its late-night program, as it previously happened. He or she provides the following as evidence to support his or her claims; firstly, the fact that there were some complaints about the station's coverage of weather and local news, secondly, the concept that some local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts during the late-night program. The reasoning of the argument is totally flawed, as it is based upon unsubstantiated assumptions.

First, the author fails to ensure us about the nature and role of these comlaints, that received from viewers and were directed to the coverage of weather and local news. Probably, the aforementioned complaints were a small quantity, or they cound even be outnumbered by some positive reviews that the station has received. The author needs to provide compelling evidence about all these facts, such as the number of complaints and how it has grown during the last years, in order for us to accept the validity of his or her claims. In addition, the fact that the local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts, does not necessarily result form the fact that the station has used more time for national news during the late-night program. Perhaps, the businesses wanted to spend their funds somewhere else, or even they wanted to focus on other forms of marketing, such as radio advertising. Much more specific information and accurate data should be provided, in order for the readers to be convinced by this evidence.

Furthermore, the author wrongly assumes that if more time will be devoted to weather and local news, the station will attract more viewers and avoid losing any further advertising revenues. The readers are given no indication of the effectiveness of the specific practices, thus it is equivocal that they are about to yield any positive results. The spokesperson should have quoted specific methods and alternatives that would lead to these two positive outcomes. For example, surveys that display the viewers' behavior and also detailed information that local business will spend more money on advertising. Otherwise, it suggests more a positive correlation, rather than a casual connection.

In conclusion, it is too hastily stated that the late-night program should be restored to its former levels. The audience is given no information about the previous situation of the specific program. The arguer should have provided more information about the previous circumstances and most important, about the station's profitability. That would convince us about any positive or prolific situation of the station's previous model of news program.

The argument is weak since neither is the conclusion sound, nor is the suggestion legitimate. Had there been substantial evidence, perhaps, the argument would have sounded more credible, but in its absence, it sounds indefensible.