"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

In this memo, the author contends that Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects an increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville. He or she uses the following premises, as evidence to support his or her claims; first the fact that a new multi-billion dollar subway system will be constructed in order to reduce the city's traffic congestion, second the concept that the subway system will be running twenty-four hours a day and motorist will spend less time in traffic. The reasoning of the argument is totally flawed, as it is based upon unsubstantiated assumptions.

Firstly, the author fails to ensure us about the effectiveness of building a multi-million dollar subway system, as a result of traffic congestion at Briggsville. The specific view constitutes more a positive correlation, rather than a casual connection. Perhaps, the ground of Briggsville is not strong enough to support and maintain a subway system. Also, there may be many other cost-effective options that the author overlooks. For example an overground tram system. The spokesperson should have quoted that among all other options studied, the construction of a subway system is the best one. In reference to that, he or she would have provided compelling evidemce for his or her claims.

Secondly, it is too hastily presented that the subway system will run through the major downtown areas, where buses suggest the only option until now. Probably, the fact that both buses and subway will serve the same area, will render the city's transports system unefficient. The author should justify why both transports should serve the same area and how efficient that appears. In addition, the issue that the potential subway system will run twenty-four hours a day is scant and lacks substantiation, The readers are given no indication of the actual need of transports during the evening. The arguer, should have presented accurate data and detailed information about the need for transports during the day, in order for us to accept the effectiveness and validity of his or her claims.

Furthermore, the fact that a new subway system will be constructed , does not necessarily mean that motorists will spend less time in traffic. It is likely that the city will be have many construction sites for many years and thus, traffic congestion will be even worse. The author, should have cited specific data, for instance surveys that approve the fact that motorists will spend less time on the road, in order for the audiences to accept the validity of his or her claims.

In conclusion, nothing ensures the claims of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones, that productivity and economy will both rise in the city of Briggsville. Perhaps, people from lower income levels will flood the city, as they will be able to move using a cheaper method. The author should have displayed, detailed information of the potential results of a thriving economy of the city.

The argument is weak, since neither is the conclusion sound, nor is the suggestion legitimate. Had there been substantial evidence, perhaps, the argument would have sounded more credible, but in its absence, it sounds indefensible.