Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

The author of the argument contends that people who choose to drink green tea, they should limit their intake to no more than two cups a day. He or she provides the following as evidence to support his or her claims; first, the fact that green tea contains caffeine, which is related to sleeplessness, irritability and headaches, second the findings of a study, assuming that green tea drinkers are having symptoms similar to chronic coffee drinkers. The reasoning of the argument is totally flawed, as it is based upon unsubstantiated assumptions.

Firstly, the author fails to ensure us about the effectiveness of green tea, when he or she quotes that it has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Green tea is likely to possess all these advantages, but we are given no indication if it constitutes the only and most prolific source of these benefits. The spokesperson should have stated that among all other tea options and herbs, green tea was found to have the most positive contribution to healthy lifestyle. That would render the evidence compelling and thoroughgoing.

Second, the author of the argument too hastily presents the opinion of many people; that the more green tea someone drinks, the greater the benefits. Perhaps, people are having a fault assumption, as they may have never analyzed any negative effects of green tea. He or she should have cited more information about those who have that opinion. For instance, many people who are based on empirical analysis or many people without any specific knowledge. Moreover, the findings of the study mentioned, are unwarranted as the readers are given no indication if the respondents of the study are proxy of the overall group of people. He or she, should have displayed accurate data and detailed information about the study itself, in order for us to accept the validity and effectiveness of his claims.

In addition, the author wrongly establishes an analogy between green tea drinkers and chronic coffee drinkers. These two parts present a positive correlation rather than a casual connection. Also, the concept that both coffee and green tea both contain caffeine does not necessarily mean that both have the same symptoms. The arguer should have presented more things in common between green tea drinkers and the coffee ones. For example, some experiments that have happened under the same conditions for both categories.

Finally, it is equivocal the conclusion of the argument as presented, when it is quoted that green tea drinkers should limit their intake to no more than two cups a day. Probably, that measure should be implemented for those who drink both coffee and green tea, or for those who are vulnerable to some symptoms caused by large caffeine intakes. The author of the argument should have quoted specific factors, such as surveys about caffeine intake and health factors in different ages, in order for the readers to accept the validity of his or her claims.

The argument is weak, since neither is the conclusion sound nor is the suggestion legitimate. Had there been substantial evidence, perhaps, the argumnet would have sounded more credible, but in its absence, it sounds indefensible.