The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many accidents is fatigue caused by sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta; we recommend shortening each of our three work shifts by one hour. If we do this, our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

In this memo, the vice-president of Alta Manufacturing contends that the company’s employees run the risk of on-the-job accidents due to long working hours which lead to fatigue and thereby increase the likelihood of accidents. The arguer provides as evidence in support of his or her claims that fact that the neighboring Panoply Industries, which has one hour less work shifts, has a lower rate of on-the-job accidents. The arguer recommends that shorter work shifts by one hour will reduce the accidents rate, relying on the assumption that fatigue and lengthy shifts are interconnected to accidents. The reasoning of the argument is totally flawed as it is based upon unsubstantiated assumptions.

Firstly, the arguer falsely assumes that the statistical figures as presented are similar and could be fairly compared. Alta Manufacturing perhaps has more employees than Panoply Industries and as a result more people involved in the production lines, leading to more accidents and consequently at a higher rate. He or she should have provided more accurate data about the actual number of employees each industry has in order to accept the reliability of this analogy.

Additionally, the arguer overlooks other factors that may have caused the increased rate of on-the-job accidents, highlighting fatigue caused by sleep deprivation as the main and only one. Undoubtedly, it seems more a positive correlation rather than a casual connection. For instance, workers at Alta Manufacturing are likely to be less experienced or less familiar with health and safety rules. They could also manipulate heavy machinery and thus have much higher chances of an accident than those of Panoply Industries who may experience a simple and standard equipment. The author should have quoted that among all other factors analyzed, fatigue was found to be the critical one.

Second, we have no indication that the measure of shortening the three work shifts by one hour will necessarily lead to positive results. Perhaps, many other actions are required in order to achieve fewer accidents. For example, the industry needs to upgrade its manufacturing equipment or the workers need some training as they may feel unaware of some innovative techniques and standards. The author should have presented studies and analytical data that the reduced work shifts are the only measure in order to have a safer working environment. For the time being, we cannot accept the effectiveness and validity of the solution proposed. Moreover, nothing ensures that all the employees of the company will use this time proposed for adequate sleep. Some of them may decide to spend more time with their families, while others may choose to allot them for outdoor activities. Hence, the reliability of this argument is unwarranted and unconvincing. The arguer would preferably indicate evidence that all workers are determined to use the extra hour for sleep, but in its absence the proposal is scant and ambiguous.

The argument is weak since neither is the conclusion sound nor is the suggestion legitimate. Had there been substantial evidence, perhaps, the argument would have sounded more credible, but in its absence, it sounds indefensible.