Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

The issue of whether understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership has engendered controversy and can be divided into two schools of thought. On the one hand, staunch defenders support that the past constitutes an obsolete concept and thus leaders should be more attached to the future. On the other hand, opponents contend that the past is the most important factor that adumbrates a prosperous future. Were I, in such an ambiguous position whether to agree or disagree, I would support the latter argument idea, even though, the former one has some positive attributes.

First and foremost, understanding the past is the best way for those in leadership positions to broaden their knowledge and avoid important mistakes. Indeed, leaders can learn a lot that have happened in previous times, and thus analyze difficult circumstances of the present. For example, the political leaders of Germany can learn a lot from their history during the 1940s, where they started the Second World War and triggered all the brutal actions that had plunged Europe into dark for five consecutive years. Regarding, the current economic crisis occuring in Europe, adding the exreme-right political parties thriving in local elections, German politicians could have all the available knowledge form the past to avoid negative circumstances and lead Europe to prosperity.

In addition, understanding the past for current leaders introduces an important tool, that helps them evaluate their role and their scope. Leadership requires that those in power possess the true history of their nations and moreover their mores and values. For instance, the leaders of the United States of America could bolster their role and scope, by knowing their past and the way important problems have been faced during the years. Therefore, they would be sure about what they represent, and it is likely that they will lead their people to prosperity and development as happened with the founding fathers of the United States.

According to the other school of thought, those in leadership positions may sometimes undermine the future by looking to the past. In reference to that, it might hold some true elements because in future many challenges that appear are completely different from those in the past, consequently their scope could not be analyzed. Nonetheless, deep knowledge of the past always strengthens the leaders' abilities and traits, rendering them successful in any challenges, although some of them may not be directly correlated to the past.

In conclusion, I wholeheartedly believe, that understanding the past alsways helps those in leadership positions to advance their disciplines and sharpen their accumen. It is the best way to render successful, as they are required to spearhead the lead their people to prosperity. Only by such traits will they be able to make our societies better and just.