Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could

The issue of whether scandals are useful for our society has engendered controversy and can be divided into two schools of thought. On the one hand, staunch defenders suggest that scandals constitute an appropriate measure for the well-being of modern societies, as they bolster justice and equality. On the other hand, opponents contend that they are used as a clue to confuse people and obfuscate other important hardships. I wholeheartedly believe, that scandals play an important role on everyday social problems, while sometimes they have also an abstruse appearance.

Firstly, scandals reveal many social or political problems that would have otherwise gone unnoticed. It is clearly illustrated at the case of the Watergate scandal that rocked the American politics in the 70’s. Although it initially seemed as an isolated case of minor importance, it quickly ballooned to a major scandal, thanks primarily to the focus by the media. Consequently, it helped to set a higher standard to which we hold public officials, while in office or during political campaigns. In addition, another case of major importance represents the Strauss-Kahn scandal. Dominique Strauss-Kahn gathered attention at his character when he was blamed of an alleged sexual assault by a maid at his hotel room in New York City. Because he was the president of the International Monetary Fund and also a respectful political figure in France, the scandal was a major issue that triggered questions on the proper behavior of politicians and high-ranking officials.

According to the other school of thought, scandals sometimes may undermine and cloak important problems in favor of some other facts. For instance, five years ago the president of a Greek University was accused that he had misappropriated public funds for personal use. The Greek community was shocked by this financial affair, but there were many other important problems that the government was trying to undermine. Thus, they refer to this incident as part of the overall financial problem, something that was soon forgotten while the president was also vindicated.

Most important, scandals have the unique ability to attract the interest of the masses because the common sense always looks and promotes negative circumstances. No other speaker or reformer could focus the attention of the individuals according to the way and the effectiveness that scandals adumbrate. Hence, the latter ones must also educate our society and not just entertain the audiences. For example, after the Strauss-Kahn affair, governments around the world should legislate and perform a common frame of rules that should be followed by all officials. Furthermore, in reference to the case of the Greek university, some financial and control measures should be implemented that every academic institution would be obliged to follow. That would be so prolific a solution, in order for our societies to prosper and learn from the past.

In summary, scandals play an important role to our societies as they achieve to inform the public about negative effects and dubious code of ethics. Their role is of great importance as they have the unique ability to transmit all the important information and details. They way scandals are promoted is the cornerstone of a healthy and equal society where all people can learn from the past and look forward to the future.