Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to "follow your dreams", more emphasis should be placed on picking up worthy goals.

Reason: Many people's dreams are inherently selfish.

The issue of whether young people should often be advised to follow their dreams or pick up worthy goals has engendered controversy and can be divided into two schools of thought. On the one hand, staunch defenders support that children should be left totally free to make and pursue their dreams. On the other hand, opponents contend that usually young people’s dreams are selfish, undermining any effort of reality and worthy goals. Were I in such an ambiguous position to choose between the two, I would support the latter argument sound even though the former one has some positive attributes.

First and foremost, childhood is the most innocent part of our lives and this that promotes all those circumstances where everything is possible without any limits and prohibitions. Indeed, we all have good memories from our childhood and the advises we received to “follow our dreams”. The latter one was mainly a goading from the older ones who were experiencing the real harsh conditions of life, so they wanted young people to dream and imagine a better world for everyone. Although it sounds good as a suggestion, it leads individuals to create a future according to their preferences; something totally selfish that has nothing to do with worthy goals. All that dream is likely to collapse one day, as life will soon present its real hard face.

Second, picking up worthy goals and avoid unrealizable dreams constitutes an advantage for equal and prolific societies. Admittedly, when young children learn the fundamentals of a prosperous way of life and get involved in practical daily conditions, they tend to become more responsible and possess disciplines. For example, many children in the rural parts of Greece could be dreamed to become one day astronauts, something that although its robust meaning could be extremely difficult to be achieved. On the contrary, if their families suggest that they should study and be involved in agricultural business, this constitutes a worthy goal since the rural parts of Greece thrive in terms of agricultural productivity.

According to the other school of thought, limiting the freedom and mainly the dreams of young people could not have led to many achievements of our modern world. It is clearly illustrated at the case of the Wright Brothers who invented the airplane. The Wright Brothers, although carpenters as a profession, had an ambitious dream; they wanted to tame the skies. At the beginning this was considered to be something impossible, but on account of their dreams and perseverance the brothers designed and developed the first airplanes. Hence, their dream came true providing the world a cheap and fast way of transport.

I wholeheartedly believe that young people should always have dreams and pursue them. It is up to them and mainly up to their educators to fully understand the real world and as a result set their dreams and hopes on making it a better place to live. Even if we accept that worthy goals mainly have numerous advantages rather than questionable anticipations, we have to think what would not have happened without any imagination and determination.