Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

The issue of whether discussing the controversial topics with those with contrasting views has engendered controversy and can be divided into two schools of thought. On the one hand, staunch defenders support that this suggests a prolific method to make some people less intractable as they will be affected by different views. On the other hand, opponents contend that this is totally useless. Were I in such an ambiguous position whether to agree or disagree, I would support the latter idea, even though the former one could have some positive attributes.

First and foremost, controversial views by nature incite contrasting views to occur. As a result, it would be characterized extremelly difficult for such topics to be found accepted by both parts. Moreover, most of the people in this category tend to be totally self-assured and they support with fervor their ideas and temper. For example, politics usually constitute a controversial view with sound oponents of every different side. Those who support liberal views are in contrast with those who have a strong wit for conservatism. Therefore, it is extremely difficult to discuss such a concept with politics with these two different parts, because only a few could be positive to change their mind even for the short period that the discussion takes happens.

In addition, individuals by nature think that when they possess an idea, they have all the right with them and they do not accept that something could undermine their view. Consequently, the nature of controversial topics promotes the ambiguity of an issue and people practice fiercely their perseverance on their standing. For instance, environmental protection and fossil fuels constitute a controversial topic that cites the two different parts of this struggle. Businessmen support that fossil fuels do not threaten the climate and the phenomenon of global warming, since they have implemented all the latest technology applications in their industries. On the contrary, environmentalists quote that the burning of fussil fuels increases the carbon dioxide of the etmosphere and as a result augmentes the global warming of the planet.

According to the other school of thought, discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views would in some ways produce advantages. Undoubtedly, there are people with contrasting views that also posses a sort of elegance and they could easily sit and discuss some important issues with their counterparts. It is clearly illustrated in the case of the United States of America and Russia where during the Cold War, the discussed some concepts about the production of nuclear weapons. However, these cases always present a minority and they should not be generalized.

In conclusion, I wholeheartedly believe that controversial topics by nature inhibit any chances of positive interaction and dialogue between individuals. People must be more educated and open-minded if it is to overcome these obstacles. In that case we could have all the fundamentals for a fair and impartial society that benefits everyone.