The country of Tarquinia has a much higher rate of traffic accidents per person than its neighbors, and the vast majority of cases one or more drivers is found to be at fault in the courts. Therefore, Tarquinia should abolish driver-side seatbelts, airbags, and other safety measures that protect the driver, while new cars should be installed with a spike on the steering column pointed at the driver's heart. These measures will eliminate traffic accidents in Tarquinia by motivating drivers to drive safely.

The author of the argument contends that Tarquinia has a high rate of traffic accidents and thus some safety measures should be implemented by motivating drivers to drive safely. He or she cites as evidence to support his or her claims the fact that the neighboring countries have a much lower rate of traffic accidents and also in the vast majority of cases one or more drivers is found to be at fault in the courts. The reasoning of the argument is totally flawed as it is based upon unsubstantiated assumptions.

First and foremost, the arguer fails to establish an analogy between Tarquinia and its neighbors. We have no indication of the actual number of the rate for both Tarquinia and the neighboring countries and thus any attempt to assume them analogous is unconvincing. Perhaps, the other countries have severe driving rules and stricter regulation, or they could even have better and safer highways and driving infrastructure. The author should have presented more data and numbers for all the countries in order to accept the validity and effectiveness of his or her claims. In addition, the arguer quotes that one or more drivers are found to be at fault in the courts. We have no indication if these drivers are representative of the overall group of the people who drive in the country. These may be drunk or even worse those who do not own a driving license. The spokesperson should provide more details and information regarding the faulty drivers.

Second, when the author mentions that driver-side seatbelts, airbags, and other safety measures should be abolished, while new cars should be installed with a spike on the steering column pointed at the driver’s heart, he or she wrongly assumes that such a measure would be rendered successful. Nothing ensures that the referred safety measures are easy to be abolished and also whether individuals are able to replace their cars with new ones. Moreover, even if we accept that drivers will replace their cars, it is unwarranted that people will not find a patent to remove the spike from the steering column that jeopardizes their life while driving. The evidence would be more credible in the case of more details and statistics regarding the will of the people to be compliant with the new law. Furthermore, the arguer too hastily concludes that the new measures will eliminate traffic accidents in Tarquinia, as drivers will drive safely. The proposed measure is likely to have even worse results as drivers will be vulnerable and critically wounded by the spike in the steering column. Most important, it is uncertain that people will accept these new measures and that these will also sharpen their perception and consciousness while driving. The author needs to convince us with ample evidence about the validity and integrity of such a solution.

The argument is weak since neither is the conclusion sound, nor is the suggestion legitimate. Had there been substantial evidence, perhaps, the argument would have sounded more credible, but in its absence, it sounds indefensible.