People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers

The issue of whether people who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic, has engendered controversy and can be divided into two schools of thought. On the one hand, staunch defenders support that concept quoting that at the end these people are considered poor decision makers. On the other hand, opponents suggest that such a phenomenon helps people become balanced decision makers and proposes them measures for improvement. Were I in such an ambiguous position whether to agree or disagree, I would support the former argument sound, even though, the latter one has some positive attributes.

First and foremost, other standards exist on decisions with logic and different ones to those with emotion. Indeed, when individuals are asked to decide about a crucial concept and they are possessed by emotion, they will act according to what their soul and heart motivates them. On the contrary, when they have to perform according to logic, it is irrefutable that they will analyze all possible outcomes and decide based on the advantages and disadvantages. For example when someone manages his or her family-owned business, he or she is likely to perform differently when it is time for choosing a new production director. The manager according to logic would choose the one who has the most capabilities. Instead, according to emotion, he or she would choose one that is possibly a relative or even a close friend. Therefore we have two different options, whereas a decision by emotion and afterwards a justification by logic would render the manager as a poor decision maker.

Moreover, not all people are capable of acting according to logic. Admittedly, someone should possess all those traits and charisma that constitute logical reasoning as the moving force in any dilemma. For instance, those who always evaluate and act according to emotion because they want to be venerated by praising others, have adversaries when they face an ambiguous situation where logic should be implemented. Hence, they fail to bolster any practical result and end up undermining any chance of equality and prosperity. It is clearly illustrated when a football manager chooses always those players that he or she likes the most and totally ignores those that have the best abilities in terms of speed and stamina.

According to the other school of thought, although people who make decisions based on emotion and evaluate them later according to logic are usually referred as poor decision makers, they have the unique ability to try and become experts and lead to robust results. Certainly, they may try to correlate two different states and thus they should have extremely good mind skills and disciplines. To adduce an example as pertinent evidence, we have to look about the decisions of the Greek Prime-Minister during the last year. The latter one was convinced that the economic reforms he had promised during the election campaigns were quite dubious and could not be implemented. Most important, he had decided that he should have presented them to the masses, in order to speak on their hearts and minds. Consequently, he had managed to emotionally motivate the audiences and at the end trying to fix all the problems of the economy. After all, he managed to compare two difficult options, something that made him flexible and good decision maker, as a ruse politician.

In conclusion, I wholeheartedly believe that many different variables enter into the equation in order to consider someone as poor decision maker. Undoubtedly, people that start with emotion and end up in logic have not the best possibilities for a true and impartial decision. Logic and emotions should be treated differently.