An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author of the argument contends that the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote a new type of millet, that has been proposed by an international development organization in response to a vitamin A deficiency among the people of the country. He or she uses as evidence to support his or her claims the fact that farmers will be paid subsidies for farming this new variety of millet and also that people will adopt it since it is already a staple food in Tagus. The reasoning of the argument is totally flawed, as it is based upon unsubstantiated assumptions.

First and foremost, the arguer wrongly assumes that the new breed of millet high in vitamin A is the only and most effective action that could be implemented by the aforementioned international organization, in order to fight vitamin A deficiency in Tagus. Perhaps, there are many other actions and options that the arguer totally ignores. For example, extreme weather conditions during the last year have devastated many plants and fields with cultivations rich in vitamin A, therefore a solution should be based on bolstering and protecting the current plantations rather than introducing a new method. In order to accept his or her validity, he or she should have stated that among all other potential choices studied, the introduction of this new breed of millet constitutes the safest measure. Moreover, the spokesperson too hastily concludes that although this new type of millet costs more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming this new variety. We are given in indication of the actual subsidies that the farmers will be refunded and also if this measure would be prolific and safe. Nothing excludes that at the end, the cultivation of this new variety will make farmers suffer losses as their productivity in this new method is unproven. The author should have displayed accurate data and statistics about the amount of subsidies and also the effectiveness of the farming of this new breed of millet.

Additionally, the arguer fails to ensure us that people in Tagus will readily adopt the new variety. The fact that millet is already a staple food in Tagus constitutes a positive correlation rather than a casual connection. The author of the argument should have quoted specific statistics and detailed information in reference to the citizens of Tagus, in order to accept the effectiveness and validity of this concept. Furthermore, the incident that the government should do everything possible to promote this new type of millet does necessarily ensure the success of this method. Many other actions implemented by the government could possibly lead to positive results. For example, a pilot program that certain farmers will test the cultivation of this new variety and at the end observe if it actually yields or not. The arguer should have stated that among all other possible actions tested, the critical and most effective belongs to the government where they should do everything to promote this new type of millet.

The argument is weak since neither is the conclusion sound nor is the suggestion legitimate. Had there been substantial evidence, perhaps, the argument would have sounded more credible, but in its absence, it sounds indefensible.