An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

An international development organization is assessing a vitamin A deficiency in the impoverished nation of Tagus. The organization suggests that by increasing the production of a newly engineered millet, the deficiency can effectively be combated. While the idea may indeed hold merit, several critical assumptions will need to be addressed in order to ensure the plan's complete success.

Perhaps the most critical assumption concerns the pathology behind the vitamin A deficiency. The bulk of the argument rests on the idea that the deficiency is the result of a dietary inefficiency. A more thorough examination of the at risk population would be of great value. The argument would crumble if one were to discover that the average individual actually consumes an incredibly high amount of vitamin A on a daily basis. And perhaps the underlying cause of the deficiency is related to physiological abnormalities. A lacking in other vitamins or minerals may lead to a decreased absorption rate. Or perhaps a toxic substance is hindering or limiting the body's vitamin A uptake. Therefore, promoted production of a staple high in vitamin A would be utterly ineffective. Before the organizations response is initiated, clarification would be essential.

An additional assumption surrounding the argument related to the use of the costly new breed of millet. The author states that this newly engineered breed of vitamin A is costly. There would clearly be obstacles to the production of any costly staple. Therefore, the organization suggests offering subsidies for the farming of the new variety of millet. However, a more critical examination of the other readily available foods in the Tagus economy is necessary. Perhaps there are other cheaper foods already available in the area that are high in vitamin A. With this in mind, merely encouraging the citizens of Tagus to eat more of a certain already available foods would be just as effective as introducing a whole new breed of millet. Farming of the new millet would therefore become an unnecessary cost.

Lastly, the author suggests that because millet is already a staple in Tagus, the people will readily adopt the new variety. This plays off the assumption that the newly engineered millet will definitively have the same characteristics as traditional millet. If one were to find the flavor profiles, textures, or even colors to be wildly different, acceptance of the new millet would be questionable. It would be critical to determine why and how the population uses millet to ensure the new product is even comparable. The organization would benefit from a thorough comparison between traditional and new millet characteristics.

Conclusively, the international organization's suggested course of action may hold true under the right circumstances. However, the proposal is rife with assumptions. If the course of action is to be effective and efficient, several questions need to be addressed and a more thorough analysis of critical factors is clearly necessary.