In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last mon

The owner of Movies Galore suggests that because profits have recently declined, changes should be made to reduce operating expenses. These changes were successful in one particular store in Marston, therefore it is believed that these changes will have the same impact elsewhere. This argument is rife with critical assumptions. If Movies Galore is to be successful in reversing profit loss, many questions regarding the proposal will need to be addressed.

The author firstly suggests that another movie store, located in Marston, changed operation hours and was therefore successful in reducing overall costs. Indeed this may at first glance

lead to a decrease in spending. However, a closer analysis is warranted. Perhaps most of the sales in Marston were made earlier in the day. It is reasonable to consider extraneous factors that would promote sales earlier in the day. Factors such as being located in close proximity to a school. When classes end for the day, children may routinely visit the nearby Marston location for an early afternoon rental or purchase. Hence, closing the store early would have a minimum effect on these majority of sales. It is unknown whether all Movies Galore locations follow this trend. In contrast, if sales throughout the remaining stores occurred mostly in the evening (after 6pm), closing early would have disastrous consequences leading to a further decline in profit. It would be wise to further assess each store to determine universal characteristics before similar generalizations are made concerning sales.

A second key assumption made by the author suggests that the Marston location made alterations to stock by eliminating older movies, therefore saving money. Again, this is a critical generalization that may not apply to the other Movies Galore locations. If these changes are to be successful as intended, more information will need to be provided. Admittedly, older movie sales or rentals may be low across all locations. Limiting stock to movies that are in higher demand would boost profits. Alternatively, Marston may be a deviation from the norm. Using similar circumstances, perhaps Marston customers consist of a younger population. These younger customers would logically be more inclined to purchase newer movies and ignore the old. If the other locations consist of an older or well rounded population, changing movie stock may have no change. Conversely, if the other stores routinely sell or rent older movies, altering stock would further yield profit loss. Again, it would be prudent to assess the remaining locations to determine a more accurate picture of overall sales.

Conclusively, the owner of Movies Galore offers several methodologies for increasing profits. These suggestions may indeed yield the desired outcome, however, there are several critical assumptions and generalizations that were made. If the movie chain is to be successful in reversing losses, a more thorough examination of all ten stores, rather than one, would be ideal in determining sale trends.