Issue Type - College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

It is easy to see the division between college courses of interest and courses that lead to jobs. Depending on your perspective, finding a job post graduation outweighs elective interests and should take precedence. However, this issue is based on the assumption that enjoyment in a course cannot overlap with pragmatism. In many situations, college students can pursue courses that they find both useful and interesting.

The statement reflects the idea that anything a college student finds enjoyable will not lead to employment. While this may be true in some outlying cases, it is a bold assumption. Students should be encouraged to find both something they enjoy and something that leads to financial stability. For instance, when finding happiness in cooking, students should be encouraged to pursue courses in the culinary arts. Mixing passion with education will only bolster success. There is no logical reason to assume that pursuing an education in something you love will result in unemployment.

Building on this idea is that success is determined by the ability and ease of employment. It can be alternatively argued that happiness is more important than financial or economical advantage. Throughout college studies, for example, a student may form a passion for 18th century French oil paintings. Job opportunities may be limited in this field. However, if the student is indeed fulfilled and passionate about coursework and career selection should he or she be discouraged? Admittedly, there are exponentially more fiscally sound opportunities found in other subject matters, such as medicine or accounting. Yet, one may be more satisfied making half as much when engaging in something they find enjoyable. Afterall, there exists the idea that if you love and find happiness in what you do you never suffer a day of work in your life.

Conclusively, we often hold more merit on careers and college courses that lead to employment when compared to the things we find enjoyable. It can be argued that it is possible to pursue coursework that both pragmatic and positively engaging. Furthermore, success should not necessarily be solely gauged on the ability to find employment and should not be over-stressed when considering ones overall satisfaction and emotional well being.