The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

The author of the argument contends that two Winston city's large department stores are each planning to open another store in the growing suburb of Sale, where each the executives of each store argue about the profitability. The author uses the following as evidence to support his or her claims; first the fact that that Salem's population has grown over 50% the last three years and also the median income there is about $75,000, second the divergent opinions of the executives of each store.

The reasoning of the argument is totally flawed, as it is based upon unsubstantiated assumptions.

First, the author fails to convince us about the domination of Namen in high-end designer fashions, and similarly the domination of Roscoe in affordable fashion options, in the city of Winston. The readers are given no indication about the size and the shops caterogy in reference to clothing, of the city of Winston.Perhaps, Winston is having many other shops that combine both high-end designer and affordable clothing shops, that are soon to become bigger than Namen or Roscoe. The spokesperson needs to provide much more specific information and accurate data about the clothing options in the city of Winstonm, in order for the audience to accept the validity of his or her claims.

Second, the fact that Salem's population has grown more than 50% over the last three years and moreover that the median income is $75,000, little does to ensure us about the argument's effectiveness. Perhaps, the rise in the population is a result of more people decided to move to the suburbs, where the quality of life is better, and that they will not surely change their shopping habbits since many of them used to shop in small city stores in the centre. Furthermore, the fact that the median income is high enough represents more a positive correlation, rather than a casual connection. It is ambiguous if more income results to increased profits after clothing purchases. The author should have provided compelling information that residents of Salem have a strong inclination to spend more money in shops in their suburb. Otherwise the argument is scant and lacks substantiation.

In addition, the author too hastily confirms the words Namen's executives; that population of Salem will spend more on clothing. He or she should have cited specific surveys and results, justifying by this way that people are determined to spend more on buying clothes in the suburb of Salem.

Finally, nothing ensures the words of Roscoe's executives; saying that the suburbs are more family oriented and therefore, people will spend more on affordable fashion options. The speokesperson should have quoted detailed information about people living in suburbs and their buying preferences. For instance, according to city officials that gave conducted a recent recent, 78% of the suburbs are family oriented and peole prefere affordable prices for clothes in local stores.

The argument is weak, since neither is the conclusion sound, nor is the suggestion legitimate. Had there been substantial evidence, perhaps, the argument would have sounded more credible, but in its ansemce, it sounds indefensible.