The study of history has value only to the extend that is relevant to our daily lives

The issue of whether history has value only to the extent that is relevant to our daily lives has engendered controversy and can be divided into two schools of thought. On the one hand, staunch defenders promote the magnanimous role of history, as the motivation for our development and dominance. On the other hand, opponents contend that history should be used and studied only to the themes that are pertinent to our daily lives. Personally speaking, I deem the former argument sound, rejecting the latter one as an ambiguous and dubious premise.

First and foremost, history always helps individuals to learn from the past. People have the unique chance to explore incidents and circumstances that have happened in the past and therefore be motivated to face adverse situations of the future. Additionally, studying history may also inspire people to go one step further and pursue greatness, comparing themselves with the great personalities of the previous years. For example, in Greece during the previous century many notable archeologists and historians have discovered the ruins of the temple of Hermes in Athens. Consequently, that achievement has triggered a strong interest and motivation for recent scientists to explore and determine their role about new findings. It is clearly illustrated, in the Northern part of the country where some excavations are considered to have discovered the grave of Alexander the Great.

Moreover, history encapsulates all these elements that individuals need in order to determine themselves and discern them from others. Admittedly, each nation or religious group has its own commons, mores and values. In particular, Christians around the world can learn from the study of history what does it mean to be Christian and what is their common scope. They could also adjust their values and disciplines according to the standards of Christianity. Most important, they can fathom to the way of their social and religious life as well as learn to respect other religious groups. Hence, not only does history suggest the scope of human beings but also implements the fundamentals for thriving and determination.

According to the other school of thought, history should be regarded only to the extent that is relevant to our daily lives. Such a perception may dismiss important elements that have helped people prosper during the centuries. It is clearly illustrated at the case of the industrial revolution. Even by visiting a factory today we could easily estimate how many different and frustrating technological advances, have improved our daily lives the last years. All these may seem ambiguous and extraneous to the common mind, strongly criticizing them. On the contrary, they have shaped our daily lives with abundance and conspicuous benefits.

In conclusion, although history constitutes the motivating power for humans to go forward and thrive in terms of social and financial aspects, many tend to disregard its role. I wholeheartedly believe that history was always the path for people to prosper and create equal societies. The common sense that unites people and makes them peacefully coexist. History ensures the past, aspires the present and leads forward to a brilliant future.