The study of history has value only to the extent that it is relevant to our daily lives.

The history comprise stories and reflections of lives related to our ancestors, In this sense, the speaker maintains that history only benefits us in the scope that is relevant to our daily lives. In my view, this assertion is too narrow, which ignores a range of aspects of studying history.

First, despite the score of daily life, history provide us with valuable information concerning our origin. In the torrent of time, we are interconnected to different groups of people, but not suddenly appear. Studying history helps us realize our origin and provide us with knowledge that how we evolve. For example, the history of Taiwan outlines the picture that how our culture be shaped and how our ancestors connected with globe. That is, we experienced several colonization of other countries, from western countries, Spain, to the eastern one, Japan. From these periods, every different culture dripped their cultures and practice into Taiwan and gradually shape the modern society that we now know.

Besides, history makes people understand the importance of unity and facilitates the sense of patriotism. Again, the experience of colonization from other countries reminds Taiwanese people how precious it is to govern their own country by themselves. Thus, people will cherish the autonomy that they possess today. And, the history of China, that the founding father of China, Sun Yet-Sun organized people overthrow the old regime to secure the democracy and well-being, reminds people in China how huge effort to exert to achieve a stable and desirable country.

Furthermore, the history inspire people’s creativity to come up with their own works. There are replete with examples that the artistic works are motivated by historical story. In Asia, the marvelous novels of martial art that written by Kim-Yun are based on fascinating story in previous dynasties. In other hand, industries of western countries usually construct the scene and story by drawing the elements from history. For example, the movie, Gone with the wing, is under the background of civil war in America.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that history has values that benefits our daily lives as the speaker’s saying. History is a reflective mirror that help us retrospect our behaviors and conducts. In running a business or a country, the history tells leaders that they cannot be complacent or arrogant even in the peaceful time or in the smooth conditions, we need to always be conscious for the danger around us. There are lots of story tell us the collapse of a thriving dynasty was caused by arrogant of its leader. In our mundane life, the history also replete with wisdom to tackle with our daily works properly, such as, The story of Washington, the American’s founding father, tells us honesty is the best policy.

In sum, studying history is not only beneficial to our daily lives, but it also has a lot of advantages in different aspect from giving us deeper understanding of our culture, through consolidate the unity of people, to inspire people’s creativity.