Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Young people are usually deemed as immature and they are also restricted by many of rules and laws. In this sense, some people assert that they have no influence on the future. However, I hold a different view, the reasons are shown as below.

Some people may consider that teenagers have little influence on the future of our society from these reasons. First, since the highly competitive education today, they are unable to participate in the activities that can decide the future. And, they may also claim that the political law sets the limit of the age that can vote, hence they do not have direct influences in a country's future. However, when we look into this issue deeper, we can find these are not the cases.

To begin with, in modern society, we have more ways for young people to broadcast their thought and therefore influence the future society. Thanks to the new technology, young people can post, discuss, or argue the issue on new-born platform such as web forums, Facebook, or other social media that is impossible in previous generation. The issue they raised not only traverse the limit of their age, but also have more profound impact in the society: the things they posted on the platforms are long-lasting and widespread through the whole nation or even the globe. From these, young people determine the future of the society in this indirect but profound way.

Furthermore, with the advancement of the educational system, young people are able to think logically and critically, which makes their opinions more compelling and influential. Students are trained with a range of courses at school. For example, from the experience of doing research project, students learn how to glean the data from various of sources and organize it in the way that can persuade others. And, through the discussion in the class, they acquire the ability that how to think an issue in different aspects. Consequently, in the near future, they can utilize these skills to persuade the surrounding people including their family members or even politicians.

To sum up, in the reality, the influence of young people is not as little as what people think. They can impost their influence through our new platforms and also with their rational abilities they develop at school.