Laws should not be rigid or fixed. Instead, they should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

The author claims that laws need to be plastic, instead of fixed. In general, I agree with this notion; however, the law still need to preserve their objectivity and validity, to some extent, and thus cannot be modified arbitrary.

To begin with, it is necessary to maintain the flexibility of laws for two reasons. First, different generation has their unique and contemporary culture and ethos, therefore, a long-lasting law should be adaptable to these changes. For example, in the previous generation, marriage with kinship is the taboo. From the genetic perspective, it may causes the high probability of troublesome infants, hence, the the law was legislated to prohibit marriage between family members. However, in the modern society, it actually contradicts to the liberation of human beings. Furthermore, thanks to the development of the genetic technology, today we possess the ability to prevent the infancy problem resulted from marriage with kinships. The alternative choices are from adoption of babies to genetic engineering. Thus, the law that prohibits certain kinds of marriage is not suitable today and need to be modified.

Second, a new law is usually not well-established, so the modification is needed. Just as a scientific theories, the new-legislated law may not be sound in the beginning; it may exist many foibles and vulnerabilities. Through the process of corrections and reinforcements, it will be more apposite to citizens. Take the policy of protecting the intellectual right as an example. In the beginning, it just protect the intellectual right from copying the music or movie from substantial media, such as disks and video tapes. Nevertheless, with the emergence of the Internet, the piracy become intangible through the cyber net and more and more people utilize this way to skirt the law. In this sense, the law for protecting the intellectual right need to be improve to tackle with this problem.

On the other hand, law should be rigor to maintain their disinterestedness and integrity. After all, people need the constant and equal law to follow. If a law can be changed easily by some people for some ulterior purpose; or if a law is enacted in cursory way and then be changed soon, it will lose the trust from the public. Once people distrust the law, the validity of them will be vitiated.

To sum up, by virtue of the changeability of the society and the potential vulnerability of the law, it is necessary to keep law’s flexibility. However, at the same time, we still need to balance the validity of the law that should not let it becomes fluky.