So much is new and complex today that looking back for an understanding of the past provides little guidance for living in the present.

In recent days, the transition of the society has became so fast-it is becoming more sophisticated and innovative compared to previous generation. In this sense, the speaker claims that the past helps us little for guiding us. In my view, this assertion is unjustifiable that it overlooks many aspects that are shared by the present and the past.

To begin with, despite the advancement of technology and new invention we enjoy but is not exist in the past, the natural of human beings largely remain unchanged throughout the history. Humans, no matter in the past or today, share the vulnerability of greedy, complacent, and so on, while having traits that wishing for equality, freedom, and well-being. On one hand, as we can see, the war were recurring every few decades that were inflamed by ambitious and rapacious group; the collapse of an enterprise happen again and again from the complacency of their leaders. On the other hand, humans are incessantly fighting for their better future. For example, in the past, black people in America fight for their emancipation while today gay and lesbian group are protesting for their equal right of marriage. These stories in the history all helps us have a deeper understanding of ourselves.

And thus, by having profound recognition of ourselves, we can try to improve our society and prevent the mistakes we made before. For quelling the greedy and aggressive leader to start a new war, our global authorities established United Nation to supersede the insidious countries. And the democracy system, which apportion the right to different departments of the government, also stop aggressive leaders to abuse their power. And, the prevailing democracy regime helps people to acquire their willing of change and well-being without struggling of revolution. All these changes today’s are inspired by the reflections of the past, which guides us how to improve the way we living in the society.

Admittedly, there are still some challenges that are unprecedented that the experience of the past helps little. To illustrate, in the global scale, the issue of global warming not happened in ancient time; in the social scale, the loneness and alienation felt by people in today’s society. All these things need to be tackled with whole news idea and methods that are not existed in the past, and thus in this facet, the speakers’s claim may be somewhat valid.

To sum up, the speaker’s claims is too extreme. After all, we are human and shared many unchangeable features, retrospect of the past can proffer us a deeper realization of ourselves, and thus we are able to improve today’s society.