Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new way.

The speaker claims that originality is not an invention that is never presented before but a mixture of old ideas in a new way. In general, I agree with this notion. From the realm of art, to the fields of science, we can see many substantiations of this notion. Although there are some new ideas seem to be unprecedented, but with a deliberation, the ideas turn out to follow the notion that the speaker mentioned.

In the realm of art, it is obvious true that we can call creativity is the recombination of pre-exist elements. One main reason is based on the nature of the art, that it propagate its authors’ knowledges, thoughts, and passion. For the literature, those novels, fictions, or essays are constructed by their authors’ own languages, which is the remnant of human’s civilization. Without using language, writers cannot impart their creativity and thought precisely no matter how fantastic is their contents. For the music, artists usually adduce the pieces that have existed to compose their works. For example, in many new pop songs today we can hear the recombination of the classical melodies which have done by artists in previous age, such as Bach, Beethoven, Mozart, and so on. It is unjustifiable to claim these new works from today’s novelists and musicians is not their new inventions.

In the realm of science, the new development of our technologies is also founded on the brain child of previous generations. In our advance and sophisticated society, there is not an individual invention appear suddenly. For example, the cutting-edge technology in semiconductor manufacturing are the cooperative effort done by different field. First we need to have a great understanding of theoretical sophistication like electronic theory and quantum mechanic to design the circuit; and then we need different equipments, such as tools for lithography and tools for growing the electronic layers of the circuit, to realize the design. Only by the mixture of these things can we consummate the brand new semiconductor chip for various applications.

However, when it comes to some revolutionary theories in science some people may think they are the epiphany of human’s intelligence which is nothing to do with the old idea. Nevertheless, when we pore deeper into it, we may find the clue that these so-called unprecedented theories are actually implement old theories. To illustrate, the general relativity conceived by Einstein, which come up with new idea to describe the space and time is usually be deemed as unprecedented theory. While the idea inside it may be brand new, the mathematical tool that be used to describe the theory is still base on the knowledge of mathematician before, like Riemann. In this sense, general relativity also a combination of wisdom from various people.

In sum, in our world, the things are constructed under pre-exist knowledge, it is reasonable to say originality is to put different ideas together. No matter in the art or science, they all embody this notion.