Such non-mainstream areas of inquiry as astrology, fortune-telling, and psychic and paranormal pursuits play a vital role in society by satisfying human needs that are not addressed by mainstream science.

The area outside the realm of science has long existed in human society. The speaker claims that it plays an important role in satisfying human need. In my view, except some malign cases of unorthodox science, I agree with that it is necessary for human beings.

To begin with, the area outside the orthodox science serves as a counterpart of normal science to fulfill humans spiritual lives. Although we humans have achieved great successfulness in improving our lives, life still exist many things that are beyond the control of normal science. Therefore, humans need to resort to other way to relieve their stress and helpfulness. For example, the power of religious help people to weather the hard. In the past, the disease is unpredictable and relentless, people are suffered from frequently. The power of religious assist people to withstand in these hardships, by bringing people hopes, stamina, and brave. On the other hand, in current society, people face different adversity not only from their families but also their working spaces. This time, religious help people to regain calm and peaceful in our stressful and clamorous lives.

Furthermore, the things in non-mainstream area usually benefits our future development. Human beings possess unique property: imagination, and the area of non-mainstream is the place that human beings can unleash this ability. Many preternatural ideas inspire people’s imagination and potential for the further discovery of the true science. To illustrate, the novel of fiction gives scientists directions that guide them to conceive their theory. If you retrospect the historical fictions, you can find that those ideas describes in one hundred years ago, are gradually realized in modern society, such as the laser, the spacecraft, self-driving cars, and so forth.

Admittedly, some ulterior people utilize weakness of human by preternatural power. In the religious, they abuse the trust of votaries to accrue their money by performing some tricks; in the political area, politician sometimes use the pretense from god to achieve their political goals. In this view, these things in non-mainstream areas not act as the role of satisfaction but the bale of human’s lives.

To sum up, regardless the malign purpose of non-mainstream science, I agree that non-mainstream things is necessary in our society.