The best way to teach—whether as an educator, employer, or parent—is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

How to teach appropriately is a profound question, from parents to employers, they all eager to know the answer. The speaker claims that praising for positive behaviors but not blame for negative ones is the best way for education. In my view, an effective way for education need to balance between the blame and the praise, but not overly leaning to any side of it.

Positive feedback help people develop their confidence. In the stage of learning, we start from fumbling then to adept in a field. Thus, we make mistake and usually frustrated. If there are somebody can guide us and give us positive responses, it will be a great encouragement that one can develop their confidence to pursuing future achievement and withstand challenges. By contrast, if a novice is relentlessly scolding by others, their interest and will are easy to be destroyed, which is not a prospective result that an educator want to see, and also contradict the purpose of education.

On the other hand, appropriate blame help learners identify their weakness and fault, which prevent them from making same mistake again. One goal of education is to develop one’s proficiency in certain area. If an educator always afraid of hurting learner’s confidence so that withhold their blame for learners’ mistakes, not only it deprives the chance for learners improving themselves but cause the result that learners never reach fluency in that field.

And, moderate galvanization help people learn faster. While an environment of amenity is what most people wish for, an apropos pressure from blaming can help people learn more effectively and efficiently. Modern society is a highly competitive one, we have a range of things needed to be learned, many different goal needed to be pursued. Therefore, how to shorten the duration of learning is important today. Here, the proper blame and spur is the most basic and straightforward method to achieve it.

To sum up, for a teacher, an employer, or parents, acquiring the balance between positive feedback and negative feedback is essential for the effective education. Positive feedbacks help learners develop confidence, and help them not to give up in their rudimentary stages; negative feedbacks foster learners’ proficiency as well as boosts their potential of efficiency and efficacy. Both of them cannot be ignored.